Posted in Uncategorized

The Power of an Image #3

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at 3.05.01 PMIn recent months, there has been a lot of talk in the UK media about “an unverified, anonymous letter that set out a strategy for a group of hard-line Muslims to install sympathetic staff and governors in Birmingham schools.”  You can read more about the whole story here.  I don’t want to go into the ins and outs of it all (I understand way too little about it to do that).

 

What struck me was the picture above.  Golden Hillock is one of the schools at the centre of the story.  It is also a school I have been in many a time.  A number of years ago, I was helping with school assemblies in the area, and Golden Hillock was one of the schools we’d go into.  Which means that when I look at the picture, I don’t think of the scandal, the questions, the arguments.  I think of kids and their struggles.  I think of teachers doing their best in a difficult situation.  Because I have seen their faces.  I have talked with them.  I know this story involves real people.

 

How often do I forget that?  Day in day out, I hear so many news story.  Stories about places I know nothing about.  It is so easy to forget that behind it all, there are real people.  Let this picture serve as a reminder of that.

Leave a Reply

