Posted in Uncategorized

Strictly Come Dancing

Just as well I’ll never be invited to appear on Strictly Come Dancing (not being famous will see to that) – I think I would officially be the worst dance partner ever!  I can get the steps right (some of the time, anyway), I just struggle with following!  This is what happened last Sunday:

Forward – back – left – right – I get quite good at the Salsa steps as long as we all stand in a row.  But then we split into pairs and I can no longer see the teacher.  That should be ok, after all I can still hear what he is saying and anyway, I should just follow my dance partner’s lead.  Well, that’s easier said than done.  I really don’t much like following.  I like to know what’s going on, and at least feel in control (even if I’m not).  So I catch myself attempting to look over my shoulder to see what the steps are.  Only to discover that two people wanting to be in control at the same time really doesn’t work very well…  While I’m busy trying to catch a glimpse of what is going on at the front, I completely miss any leads my dance partner gives me.  With predictable results.  Which I guess could be disastrous if this was about something more important than a bit of Salsa dancing.

I wonder how often I have done that to God – been so busy looking over my shoulder, trying to figure out the situation, trying to stay in control that I completely forget to pay attention to what He is doing, what He is telling me and almost forget that He is there?!

Leave a Reply

